You decide to follow the officer’s instructions. You are sure they will see that you were just in the wrong place at the wrong time.
The police officer explains your rights and takes you into custody. Now you are in jail and need to find a bail bondsman. Posting bail is often a confusing and anxiety-producing process.
Being arrested may feel embarrassing for you and your family. Remember, you are not alone. In 2017, 32,821 people were arrested in Wake County, NC.
It’s probably time to call a bail bondsman. How do you begin looking for the best bail bondsman in Raleigh, North Carolina? Keep reading to find answers and get the results you need.
Tips to Find a Bail Bondsman
If this is your first arrest, you may not know where to begin. Arrests often happen fast, and most people aren’t prepared. So, how do you find the best bail bondsman?
Look for companies that provide services 24 hours a day with teams standing by to help you. This can decrease the time you have to spend in jail.
Ask a friendly police officer for some suggestions. They work with bail bondsmen every day and see how they treat their customers.
Look for bail bondsmen who give you complete and easy-to-understand information about their fees. If you don’t understand something, keep asking questions.
Ask about their license and how long they’ve been in business. If possible, check for online satisfaction ratings. The cheapest services may not give you the best results.
When using a bail service, it’s somewhat similar to getting a loan. Watch out for companies that try to take advantage of you when you're feeling desperate.
The company representative should treat you with courtesy and respect. This is a business transaction and you are paying them for a service. If you don’t feel comfortable and confident, keep looking.
How Does Payment Work with a Bail Bondsman?
When an arrest occurs in North Carolina, you will first undergo processing at the nearest county jail. This procedure includes being booked, fingerprinted, and photographed. Next, you have to pay a certain amount (bail) to get out of jail.
It’s rare for a person to have enough cash on hand to pay the full bail charge. So, what do you have to pay a bail bondsman to get out of jail?
In North Carolina, the law states that bail bond companies can charge up to 15% premium. This means that if your bail is $1,000, the premium charge is $150. Some agencies offer payment plans if the court sets a high bail.
Our company, for example, offers the following plan to help you meet your bail obligation:
- Zero percent interest rates on payment plans
- Down payments as low as 2.85%
- Flexible payment schedules for bonds high than $10,000
- Free consultations
- No background credit checks
It’s important to know that you must receive approval for the payment plan. You may also need to provide collateral. This protects the total amount of the bail set by the court.
If you’re charged with failing to appear in court or out-of-county issues, low down payment rates often don’t apply. There are also restrictions on who can qualify as a co-signer for your loan. The co-signer must meet the following requirements:
- They must have had the same job for at least 12 months
- They must earn a minimum of $2,000 per month
- They must have an open and functioning checking account
- They must be at least 21 years of age
Be sure to consider these factors when asking someone to act as your co-signer.
Understanding the NC Premium Charge
In some situations, a defendant, may be surrendered back to the authorities. In this case, excluding extenuating circumstances, your full bail premium is returned within 72 hours. Yet, the law dictates that the bondsman may keep the premium in any of the following situations:
- The defendant fails to pay the bail premium or make the agreed premium payments
- The defendant changes their address and doesn’t notify the bondsman or court
- The defendant physically hides from the bondsman
- The defendant leaves the state without permission
- The defendant violates any of the court orders
- The defendant intentionally gives false personal identification information
The premium is also lost if the defendant withholds or falsifies information about their failure to appear in court. The premium loss also applies if they fail to report a felony conviction in the past 10 years. Last, failure to reveal pending charges in any state or federal court will forfeit the premium.
Are You Looking for a Good Bail Bondsman?
If you find yourself in a situation that results in an arrest, you need to know how to find a bail bondsman. This article has provided specific strategies and what to look for. It also gave you a better understanding of how the bail process works.
At Raleigh Bail Bonds, we know that an arrest is scary and stressful. We are ready to help you meet your bail needs. Our team will answer your questions and keep you informed about the process. We want to make sure you have the knowledge and ability to move through the legal process.
This means we will help you make your court appearance. We are also here to provide assistance to your loved ones.
Bookmark our site and keep our number with you in case you need assistance in Wake County, NC.